Maldon Heritage Week 8th – 9th September 2018

When the National Trust’s Heritage Open Days return for their 21st year in September, here in Maldon 19 venues will be open, with talks, concerts and exhibitions in 8 of them.

Enjoy a 21st Century encounter with the current Town Mayor in her regalia in the Mayor’s Parlour in the Moot Hall. Explore the remains of a medieval leper hospital at St Giles in Spital Road, which is not usually open to the public,  and enjoy some peace and quiet exploring the tranquil grounds of the Leech Memorial Gardens in Lodge Road. Learn all about the Maldon Millennium Embroidery in the Maeldune Heritage Centre.  Celebrate Maldon’s Maritime heritage aboard the Steam Tug Brent, and in a quayside exhibition charting the restoration of the yacht, Essex Melody. Maldon Little Ship Club will be hosting talks on “The Shipwright and his traditional tools” and “The Riverside – landscape, architecture and detail – an introduction” given by members of the Maldon Riverside Association. The unique steam powered Beeleigh Mill, currently under restoration will be open, together with Beeleigh Abbey Gardens where you can meet Chris Cork, the man behind the restoration of the gardens over the past 18 years and enjoy a brief lay introduction to the history of the building (note the abbey will not be open).


Click on the events below to learn more 
 

On the site of the medieval church of St Peter, this red brick building has housed Dr. Plume’s library since 1704. To celebrate “Extraordinary Women” there will be an exhibition of works by women authors. Information about the project to conserve and catalogue the Library’s archive will also feature. The Friends of Thomas Plume’s Library will be providing refreshments in the churchyard, where there will also be a bookstall and a raffle.

Saturday: 10am – 4pm

Access: RESTRICTED via steep and narrow spiral staircase

Max 10 people per tour/session

In the heart of Maldon, the Heritage Centre is home to the nationally renowned Maldon Millennium Embroidery which celebrates and portrays in vivid and colourful details 1000 years of Maldon life, starting from the Battle of Maldon in 991. Taster tours available.

Browse the gift shop which is full of lovely things all made by talented local artists and crafts people and our regular displays of artefacts and information of local archaeological interest continue. The Centre also features an art gallery. The current exhibition is by The 96 Group featuring works by June Cox, Pat Boss, Coral Skelsey and the late Linda Muncey – all with their own very distinct styles in a variety of mediums, including paintings, prints and creative textiles.  

6-9th September: 11am – 4pm                                                        

A Georgian walled garden originally associated with the adjacent Mansion called Friary East. This hidden oasis of green in the town centre is now maintained by the Maldon and Heybridge Horticultural Society as a working garden

 

Sunday: 10am – 4pm

Access: RESTRICTED by narrow gravel pathways

Directions: Adjacent to Maldon Library, White Horse Lane

All Saints Church is unique in England for its 13th century triangular tower which dominates Maldon’s skyline.

Open daily 10am – 5pm

Beeleigh Mill is a unique steam powered mill under restoration. Until 1875 it was part of one of the largest flour mills in Essex.  A fire destroyed the 5 storey water-driven mill leaving the steam mill almost entirely intact.

See :

– the rare elephant boiler
one of only 3 surviving Wentworth Beam Engines
– the original milling machinery

Find out about :

– the mill’s history
its connection to the Chelmer and Blackwater Navigation
and the mill’s wartime secret

For directions to the mill visit www.beeleighmill.co.uk  or follow signs from the Museum of Power,  Langford (Parking available at M of P, limited parking by Beeleigh Falls)

8th, 9th and 16th September 11am – 4pm

Access for physically disabled people is possible only to the ground floor spout room containing the gear and hurst mechanism and not to the engine and boiler room. The entrance door to the building is very narrow and this may prevent access for a wheelchair.

 

12 the Hythe, CM9 5HN

Come aboard Brent, the last surviving steam vessel of the Port of London Authority’s fleet and learn all about her fascinating history

Saturday and Sunday : Talks at 11.30am, 12.15pm, 1.30pm, 2.15pm and 3pm

Maldon’s Masonic Hall Centre will be opened to the public. Guides will be on hand to allow visitors unique access to the centre and to explain the Masonic Heritage of Maldon

Saturday and Sunday: 10am – 4pm    

The Hythe, CM9 5HN

Maldon Little Ship Club will be hosting a talk by David Patient of Maldon Riverside Association entitled “The Shipwright and his traditional tools” at 2pm on Saturday 8th September

and a talk by Julian Harrap, also of the Maldon Riverside Association on “The Riverside – landscape architecture and details – an introduction” at 2pm on Sunday 9th September.

There will be a quayside exhibition about the History and Restoration of the Essex Melody which will be moored at the quay on both days.

Saturday and Sunday: Open 11.30am – 5pm        

 

This attractive site was formerly part of a garden which was the pride and joy of two local sisters, Edna and Joan Leech, who lived opposite. Sadly both sisters were killed in an air crash in 1971 and their garden was left to the people of Maldon in their will. The garden features a wide range of native and ornamental trees, and is maintained by the Friends of Leech Memorial Garden. Guided tours of the garden at 10am, 11am and 12 noon on Saturday

Access: Grassy, uneven surface, not suitable for wheelchairs

Meet Chris Cork, the man behind the development of the gardens over the last 18 years, and enjoy a brief lay introduction to the history of the building by Judy Lea, Chairman of the Maldon Society (Note the abbey will not be open).

Saturday – talks at 10am and 11am

Booking details: Booking essential via Maldon Town Council; 01621 857373 email townclerk@maldontowncouncil.gov.uk

Access: gravel paths, some gentle slopes and steps. Large WC with ramp and handlebars

 

Remains of an ancient leper hospital founded, it is said, in 1164 by Henry II. St Giles is a unique survival of only ten medieval hospitals recorded in Essex and is of national importance. Not normally open to the general public, stewards will be on hand to explain the significance of the monument.

Saturday and Sunday : 10am – 4pm

Access: Grassy, uneven surface, not suitable for wheelchairs

Directions: Spital Road, approximately 20 minutes walk from the town centre

Maldon’s Moot Hall is among the earliest decorated brick buildings in Essex and has served as a police station, courthouse and council chamber. Guides will be on hand to explain the history of the building. Listen to Dr Helen Kemp talking about Early Medieval Torture in the D’Arcy Day lecture on 7th Sept or come and meet the Town Mayor in the Mayor’s Parlour in her robes and regalia on 8th September 2pm – 4pm.

Friday:  D’Arcy Day Lecture 7pm

Saturday: 10am – 4pm (Mayor 2pm – 4pm)

Sunday: 10am – 4pm

Access: RESTRICTED. Upper floors via a steep spiral staircase

Built in 1821, this handsome little brick building is set back from the road surrounded by its graveyard. Internally it comprises two separate rooms; originally one for women and one for men, although since 1830 men and women have met together. The Georgian benches and tiered elder’s benches remain. Members of the church will be available to talk to visitors about the history of the Quakers in Maldon and their practice today, as well as an exhibition about the influence of Quaker women

Saturday: 10am – 4pm

Sunday: 12noon – 4pm

Salt, Water and Beer Shanty Singers in concert with special guests, Niki Esson, and Mick & Sarah Graves

Maldon Town Hall, Market Hill CM9 4RL

Sunday 9th September @ 7.30pm

Booking essential, via Maldon Town Council 01621 857373

Known as the Fisherman’s Church as its tower serves as a mariner’s beacon for boats coming up the River Blackwater. The Church dates back to 1130 but there is archaeological evidence dating back to Roman Times. A stained glass window design is based on the dying prayer of Earl Byrhthnoth, which gives thanks for the joy in his live

6th – 9th September:  open during daylight hours

Refreshments available.

All at the United Reformed Church, Market Hill, CM9 4PZ

Learn about this historic building and gain an insight into some local characters such as pastor Joseph Bilio, whose sermons coined the phrase “go like Bilio!” and local Suffragette, Myra Eleanor Sadd Brown.

Enjoy a Sunday afternoon concert in the URC, “Sunday Matinee – September Song”with Richard Maison and Friends on Sunday 9th September @ 5.30pm No booking required

Saturday: tours and exhibition 2pm – 4.30pm

Sunday: tours and exhibition 2pm – 4pm, concert at 5.30pm

Explore the history of this former Water Pumping Statin which contains a fascinating collection of heritage industrial machinery and tools, working overhead machine shop and the largest working steam pump in Essex. Book Fair and craft stalls.

8th – 9th Sept 10am – 4pm

Wheelchair accessible

 

 

 

Maldon Museum holds a fascinating collection reflecting the social, domestic and industrial history of Maldon and the surrounding district, and provides a wonderful insight into Maldon’s maritime past. Lots of children’s activities.

7th – 8th Sept: 2pm – 5pm

9th Sept:  11am – 5pm

Access: Disabled access to ground flooor only. Film coverage of other exhibits.

Join a special service of commemoration on the Quay at 12.30pm during which the Town Mayor will lay a wreath on behalf of the town.

9th Sept 12.30 – 1.30pm

Access: Quay accessible with care

Parking: in town centre or Promenade Park only

Join the Salt, Water & Beer Shanty Singers for a celebration of Maldon’s Maritime Heritage in words and music, at the Octagon, Church Street, Maldon CM9 8QJ on Thursday 7th September – doors open at 7.00pm. Singing starts at 7.30pm – 8.30pm – audience participation encouraged.

 

 

 

 

Events Leaflet